Author Topic: A BIT OF HUMOR ?  (Read 3413 times)

patti

• View Profile
A BIT OF HUMOR ?
« on: January 16, 2014, 04:19:12 AM »
 We bought a deli, it was located in Port Jefferson, New York. It was right across the street from where the ferry to Bridgeport Connecticut docks. There was also a marina, a hotel and several restaurants in the area. I had very high hopes for the future. I quickly learned what a fantasy that was.
          Owning a deli is not as glamorous as you might think. The work is hard, and the hours are long. I had never worked in the food industry, my partner who was also my husband was a certified chef. I thought I was going to sit at the cash register and take in the money. I knew nothing about how the food industry worked. I worked as a general manager for a new car dealership for over ten years. I could handle the bookkeeping for the deli with no problem, and of course take in the money.

We cleaned the store from top to bottom. Mike ordered food from the purveyors, put a few tables in the front, purchased two more slicers, a new scale and cash register. In the back of the deli we had a stove with six burners, an oven, and a grill, a triple sink, a pizza oven, a long stainless steel counter, a fifteen by fifteen walk-in, a desk, and a wall with shelves.
          I assumed Mike would do all the cooking, we would hire a couple of people to work the counter and that would be it. I didn't realize I was assuming myself right into Hell. We also offered catering to our customers. I don't know what the hell I was thinking at the time, but it was not reality.